Nobel Prize 2012 for Medicine goes to John Gurdon and Shinya Yamanaka

Nobel Prize 2012 for Medicine goes to John Gurdon and Shinya Yamanaka

Vola! Announcement for the most precious prize “Nobel” has been announced for Medicine. This Nobel prize winner of 2012 in Medicine era are two people. Number 1 is British researcher John Gurdon and Japanese researcher Shinya Yamanaka. Their Research work was such an extra ordinary effort of mankind like Reprogramming of a specialized cell of the body that is mature into stem cell. This brings a new hope to the scientists and opens a great era for treatment. Nobel Prize Organization Has said it this way “The Nobel Prize in Physiology or Medicine 2012 was awarded jointly to Sir John B. Gurdon and Shinya Yamanaka “for the discovery that mature cells can be reprogrammed to become pluripotent” To treat chronic incurable disease like Parkinsonism, This Stem cell innovation will open a new era for treatment. it will also help the scientists to study the roots of disease in the laboratory. The prize committee at Stockholm’s Karonlinska institute said the discovery has “revolutionized our understanding of how cells and organisms develop.” In 1962 John Gurdon displayed that the DNA from specialized cells of frogs, like skin or intestinal cells, could be used to generate new tadpoles. That showed the DNA still had its ability to drive the formation of all cells of the body. After 40 years in 2006, Shinya Yamanaka, the Japanese researcher showed that amazingly simple recipe could turn mature cells back into primitive cells, which in turn could be pushed into different kinds of mature cells. Generally, we can consider that the primitive cells were the equivalent of embryonic stem cells. But a controversy arise, because to get the embryonic cells, human embryos had to be destroyed. Shinya Yamanaka’s method gave the scientist a perfect method to get primitive cells without destroying embryos. Isn’t that Amazing?

What Nobel Committee Said About Nobel Prize in Medicine 2012:

“The discoveries of Gurdon and Yamanaka have shown that specialized cells can turn back the developmental clock under certain circumstances,” “These discoveries have also provided new tools for scientists around the world and led to remarkable progress in many areas of medicine.”

Who is John Gurdon and where is he now?

Sir John B. Gurdon

Photo: Creative Commons Attr. 2.0 Generic license

Gurdon, 79, has served as a professor of cell biology at Cambridge University’s Magdalene College and is currently at the Gurdon Institute in Cambridge, which he founded.

Career of John Gurdon

Gurdon was made a Fellow of the Royal Society in 1971, and was knighted in 1995. In 2004, the Wellcome Trust/Cancer Research UK Institute for Cell Biology and Cancer was renamed the Gurdon Institute in his honor. He has also received numerous awards, medals and honorary degrees.  He has been awarded the 2009 Albert Lasker Basic Medical Research award

Who Is Shinya Yamanaka and where is he now?

Shinya Yamanaka

Photo: Creative Commons Attr. 2.0 Generic license

Yamanaka, born in 1962, worked at the Gladstone Institute in San Francisco and Nara Institute of Science and Technology in Japan.

Career of Shinya Yamanaka

  • 2007 Osaka Science Prize
  • 2007 Inoue Prize for Science
  • 2007 Asahi Prize
  • 2007 Meyenburg Cancer Research Award
  • 2008 Yamazaki-Teiichi Prize in Biological Science & Technology
  • 2008 Robert Koch Prize
  • 2008 Medals of Honor (Japan) (Medal with Purple Ribbon)
  • 2008 Shaw Prize in Life Science & Medicine
  • 2008 Sankyo Takamine Memorial Award
  • 2009 Lewis S. Rosenstiel Award for Distinguished Work in Basic Medical Research
  • 2009 Gairdner Foundation International Award
  • 2009 Albert Lasker Award for Basic Medical Research
  • 2010 March of Dimes Prize in Developmental Biology
  • 2010 Kyoto Prize in Biotechnology and medical technology
  • 2010 Balzan Prize in biology
  • 2010 Person of Cultural Merit
  • 2010 BBVA Foundation Frontiers of Knowledge Award in the Biomedicine Category
  • 2011 Albany Medical Center Prize in biomedicine
  • 2011 Wolf Prize in medicine
  • 2011 King Faisal International Prize
  • 2011 McEwen Award for Innovation
  • 2012 Millennium Technology Prize
  • 2012 Fellow of the National Academy of Sciences

Last year’s medicine award to Canadian-born Ralph Steinman, American Bruce Beutler and French scientist Jules Hoffmann briefly created some confusion when it was announced that Steinman had died a few days earlier. Posthumous prizes are normally not allowed, but the award was left unchanged since the judges were not aware of Steinman’s death when they selected him as a winner.

So Congrats to Nobel Prize 2012 winner: John Gurdon and Shinya Yamanaka!

Source of this Post: huffingtonpost

About Toufiq Hassan

I am Toufiq Hassan, Admin of Email me on [email protected]. Follow me on Google

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *